Skip to Main Content

Account Help

Set up your personal accounts in the library catalog & research databases.

My Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language, featuring not only current words and usages but also historical definitions as well as literary passages illustrating context.

A personal profile in this database allow you to save words and searches. Follow the instructions to create your personal profile.

Create an OED Personal Profile

Begin by navigating to the Oxford English Dictionary from the A–Z Databases page.

  1. Once you are in the database, select the Sign in link in the upper right corner of the screen.

    Sign-in link in Oxford English Dictionary.
    Sign-in link in the Oxford English Dictionary.

  2. When the sign-in window appears, select Don't have an account?.

    Personal profile log-in window.
    The log-in window for your profile.

  3. Set up your account by filling in your Full Name and Email address.

    Sign-up window asking for name and email address.
    The form for creating an account.

  4. You may have to complete a CAPTCHA in order to finish creating your account.

    CAPTCHA test.
    CAPTCHA test.

  5. See your account and its features by selecting your name choosing My OED.

    Dropdown menu showing My OED option.
    Dropdown menu available when signed in.

  6. Once logged in, you can save definitions and searches using the link marked Save.

    Word definition with save option highlighted.
    Save a definition in your folder.

  7. You can also adjust your personal settings to choose how definitions are displayed.

    Options to change the appearance of definitions.
    Customize the dictionary.